Rescue and Ferry Museum
Hoek van Holland is closely connected to the sea and the mouth of the Nieuwe Waterweg. Since the opening of the Nieuwe Waterweg in 1872 countless ships have run aground at the mouth. Entering the Nieuwe Waterweg demands a great deal of steerage, especially during high wind or stormy conditions.
Since 1986 the Redding- and Veerdienst museum (Rescue and Ferry Museum) shows the fascinating history of maritime disasters and rescue operations in an old ammunition bunker located at the Badweg in Hoek van Holland.
In 1990 the board of the foundation Reddingmuseum Jan Lels (Rescue Museum) has made part of the bunker’s space available to the board of the Nationaal Veerdienstmuseum (National Ferry Museum). In 2008 both museums merged and became the Redding- en Veerdienstmuseum Jan Lels (Rescue and Ferry Museum). The museum is exclusively managed and maintained by volunteers.
The Jan Lels museum manages an impressive number of objects, books, paintings, pictures and other tangible memories; memories that illustrate the rich heroic and sometimes sad history of the rescue business in the North Sea area from Scheveningen until the Belgian coast.The museum also portrays the history of former Stoomvaartmaatschappij Zeeland (Steamship Company Zeeland), which maintained the ferry service between the Netherlands and England for more than 100 years.
The museum also hosts a substantial number of objects that illustrate the history of the Ferry service, which is also very much a part of the local community.
First Saturday and Sunday of the month: 1.30pm – 4.30pm
Wednesday: 1.00pm – 4.30pm
Closed in December and January.
Adults: € 2,50 per person
Children (6-12 years): € 1,00 per person
Children (0-6 years): Free